Mar. 22nd, 2005

eurydicebound: (Default)
Alisdair is sick again. This makes the third time for him since the beginning of the year. So far today we've had very low fever, coughing, drainage, and a brief spat of vomiting, neatly contained. Since he had almost nothing in his stomach at the time, I think it was mainly drainage related.

What fun.

Could be worse, though. Mostly it's that I have no sick days left, and yet have to stay home with him. I'm also sort of between projects, so I have no work I can bring home. I've got some freelancing I can finish up and some criticism I can do for the workshop on Friday, so I'm not altogether emptyhanded today, but I feel bad about not being at work. I keep thinking that one of these days my boss is going to be really upset with me, which is a discomforting sensation. Ah well. Anyway, don't be surprised if I post a few more times than usual today. It's just going to be one of those days.
eurydicebound: (Default)
The current deadline is August, ladies and gents: That's the month by which David should be moved out and in his own place, and paperwork should be proceeding on the divorce (not going to count on it being complete by that date, given Washington's 90-day waiting period). David's begun the process of researching money and places and whatnot, and the entire picture looks far rosier than he'd originally thought. We're figuring out how much money we'd need to save up for him to get a place with furniture for him and kiddos, and will begin putting it aside post haste. (The kids will live with me most of the time, but we're doing joint custody -- I'll drop them off at school in the mornings, he'll pick them up and take them to choir and such and feed them dinner, then they'll spend the night back with me or him, depending, and then every other weekend we'll trade off who keeps them... and probably still have an occasional family outing or dinner or something.)

I'm really glad things are moving forward again. My next big quandry is whether to simply go with a service that will fill out the forms appropriately or to go with a mediator. We aren't having any problems deciding how to split things up or do custody/parenting stuff, so it's mainly a question of how to get the paperwork right so that we can do this with as little court time as humanly possible and as fairly for both parties as possible.

Never thought I'd be happy to get divorced, and part of me is sad about it. Still, halfway between light and dark, love and hate, is no way to live. If we can't do it right, I'd rather not do it at all than have some half-assed marriage that makes everyone miserable. All things considered, I'm looking forward to the future.

Profile

eurydicebound: (Default)
eurydicebound

March 2013

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
1011121314 1516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:08 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios