Welcome to the big city, I guess....
Aug. 12th, 2005 11:24 pmSo I was sitting with the kids watching TV this evening when suddenly there's a man standing in the driveway, knocking on the window and trying to get my attention. He starts to ask me a question, slurring a bit. The window's closed, so I can't quite make it out. Instead I go to the door and he stands at the gate to my yard. He starts asking where 55th and Leo is (about a house down to the west), mentions something about looking for Pulaski (didn't ring any bells for me), and asks me a couple of times if my husband would be home soon, to which I explained that he should be home any time now. He seemed to want me to come out and talk with him, but frankly, there was no way in hell. After a couple of seconds, he says he's going to go ask someone else for directions. I nod and suggest that this is a good thing. I then go back in and lock all the doors and make sure the windows are relatively secure.
I tried to get David or my landlords to come over, just to have someone play the part of the "expected husband" role, but David's evidently out this evening and I couldn't get ahold of the landlords.
wilthoughts came online and suggested that I call the police, so I did and they're sending out a cruiser to look around the neighborhood. I'm to call back if I feel like something's not right. Bleargh.
Moving seems to look a lot more interesting all of a sudden....
I tried to get David or my landlords to come over, just to have someone play the part of the "expected husband" role, but David's evidently out this evening and I couldn't get ahold of the landlords.
Moving seems to look a lot more interesting all of a sudden....