Oct. 23rd, 2007

eurydicebound: (Katherine)
So I watched Chinatown last night. It's very hard to say whether I really liked it or not, but I'm definitely still thinking about it, so I can tell it's a film rather than a movie or a flick. I think I liked it. I didn't dislike it. Hmmm.

I find it really hard to discuss without assuming that you've seen it, although I realize that many of you have not. If you like noir, it's definitely worth seeing. It is not really set in Chinatown, despite the title. At least, not in a physical sense. Despite my love for pattern recognition, I tend to be somewhat literal minded when it comes to film. I don't seek out allegory or assume anything about subtle metaphors. Thus great (or at least pretentious) film is often lost on me. It served as an interesting counterpoint to the Nero Wolfe episodes I've been watching of late -- with NW being very stylized and fluffy to a certain extent, and Chinatown much grittier.

I think I found myself coming out of it with a both a feeling that I should shower to try to wash some of the corruption and fatalism out of my brain, and a "WTF?" feeling about various points in the plot. The points are logical, however, and really aren't that WTF. Certainly not as compared to The Big Sleep or something of that nature. I think at least in part it's because we follow Gittes (Nicholson's) character so closely that we only learn things as he does. In The Big Sleep, this isn't a huge deal because it's so staged that we are content to observe events as they unfold. Chinatown is a far more realistic production, though, and put together with enough skill that I found myself frustrated with Gittes inability to see things coming, and found myself shocked by the turns and twists as he was. Everything at the end just came too far and too fast and -- like that character -- at the end, there is nothing you can do but watch helplessly as it all unravels.

I find myself in a mood to discuss it, so if you've seen it and are thus motivated, let me know.

Questions!

Oct. 23rd, 2007 11:19 pm
eurydicebound: (kick)
It's another Q&A meme! This one yanked from [livejournal.com profile] innocent_man. What the hell, I've actually got the time to focus on it, right? So, if you're so inclined, you can ask me one question. I'll give one honest answer (like truth or dare, but without the dare part). Except if I decide I can't answer it or something, in which case I'll tell you that. All comments and replies will be screened for this entry so that there's at least a semblance of privacy thereabouts, so only you and I will see our particular conversation.

The Meme
----------------------------------
1 question...
1 chance...
1 honest answer...
That's all you get...

Ask me 1 question. Any 1 question, anything, no matter how crazy it is. An honest answer.

No catch.

If you feel up to the challenge, of course, you may feel free to stick this on your LJ and see what sorts of questions you get. I am filled with trepidation. You may fire when ready.

Profile

eurydicebound: (Default)
eurydicebound

March 2013

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
1011121314 1516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:52 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios