eurydicebound: (lapbook)
News #1. Wizkids is kaput. Closed. An ex-company. Their clicky-base has reached its end. I am both sad and unsurprised.... Topps always did seem an odd owner for it. It'll be interesting to see what happens with those IPs now.

News #2. Prop 8 sucks. There's a new website on my work network organizing a nationwide protest this weekend. It's http://jointheimpact.wetpaint.com. Take a look at it and see where your local protest is -- or organize one yourself. Get civic, people.

News #3. Well, not news so much, really... just that tonight was Accidental Sushi night. See, I asked the kids what they wanted, and we ended up settling on rice... sticky rice, actually. And peanut butter and banana sandwiches. I redirected the sandwiches to chicken, and then added thin-cut carrot sticks, and then, as I was getting the boys to the table... remembered the purchased seaweed wrappers I hadn't used that I had in the pantry! I'd promised the boys homemade sushi months ago, but by the time I got it all together, time and energy had escaped me totally. Also, I always burn the rice. This time I managed not to burn the rice, though, and we wrapped up carrot and chicken in rice and wrapper, and it was good! Well, except for Will, who reaffirmed that he doesn't like the taste of seaweed wrappers, and I didn't manage to figure out how to make little rice balls yet without seaweed... so that needs some work. But still! Accidental sushi! I think that was roughly 100 cool mom points there.

News #4. Got a flu shot. My work signed on to pay for them... yay my work. We'll see if I manage to avoid getting sick. :)

Cool Mom Points

Date: 2008-11-11 02:54 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] hachiman0.livejournal.com
I'd say that Accidental Sushi is definitely worth at least 100 CMPs!

Date: 2008-11-11 04:16 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] berkanna.livejournal.com
The secret of rice balls without wrappers is to form them when the rice is really hot, and keep dipping your hands into salty water. I recently went through a period of rice ball craving. :p

Date: 2008-11-11 04:22 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] jesshartley.livejournal.com
I agree with the "dip your hands in salty water" advice. Make sure your hands are wet, re-wet them between each molding.

Another trick is to use Saran wrap and plop a dollop of the warm rice into the plastic wrap, then use that to help you mold it into a ball or the traditional triangle shape.

They also make inexpensive little molds for onigiri (little rice balls) although I've only found them on line, and if you're not buying other things, you'll pay more in shipping than the cost of the little plastic molds. They do come in cool shapes, though... bunnies, bears, etc.

http://www.ehow.com/how_4398070_make-onigiri.html

Date: 2008-11-11 05:06 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] ennui-13.livejournal.com
Howsabout veggie wrappers ... takes a bit of time and they are crunchier but yummy.
Unless you have big carrots I wouldn't bother with carrots. I've done zucchini and MONGO cucumbers ... I swear those cukes were tiny the last time I looked at the garden.

Profile

eurydicebound: (Default)
eurydicebound

March 2013

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
1011121314 1516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 10:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios