Jul. 31st, 2006

eurydicebound: (Default)
Well, actually it's Monday morning because I'm up way too damn late. Today I finished cleaning my kitchen, more or less, got most of the yard cleaned up, finished the bathroom. sorted through a bit of stuff in the living room. folded every scrap of clothing that had been languishing in the laundry room, washed the couch cover, and helped the kids clean up roughly half their bedroom. I now have 1 1/2 days to finish cleaning the living room and pick up my bedroom. I watched two movies today (2!), V.I. Warshawski and The American President. I actually only watched part of the latter one, but I've seen it often enough to be able to recite most of the rest anyway.

V.I. was interesting. I can see why it didn't do well back in the day, really, and it isn't because it sucks or anything. It was actually at least as good as Fletch or Beverly Hills Cop, for example, and those did very well at the box office. No, it's because Kathleen Turner (and I really, really want to be her when I grow up) curses and gets beaten up -- and this in an era when women still didn't curse, and they never got beaten up unless it was off camera (or obviously faked) in an ABC movie of the week where an abused wife finds the strength to leave her marriage -- or the girl is a sidekick to the Action Jackson of the team. There might be a hint of shadow around an eye, or a busted lip, or being held uncomfortably while threatened with an improbable weapon/revolver. In this movie, though, the woman is an action lead in a noir-esque crime film (it isn't really noir, not by a long shot, but it definitely draws inspiration from Sam Spade -- and damn it, it should have been). It was made by Hollywood pictures at a time when Disney really didn't know what to do with this "adult" studio of theirs, and the film suffers for it. Every now and again it gets past the plucky kid sidekick and pseudo-clever oneliners and Turner actually acts, and it's a damn good scene in a film that could be really good -- then the scene ends and the ghost of ol' Walt's Money descends over the film once more, and it becomes a cookie cutter 80's cop movie. The one thing it did for me, though, is encourage me to seek out the novels by Sara Paretsky. Sure, the movie only vaguely resembles them, but it's easy to spot what came from the novels and what was thrown in/glossed over in the film. It's enough that I'm intrigued and wish to see more of her newsletter, basically. It could have been tons better than it was, which is regrettable, but I don't find myself wishing for those hours of my life back, which actually surprises me.

Honestly, I wonder if the US is ready for a gritty movie/TV show with a female action lead. Are we ready to see a woman get beaten up on television just like any other P.I. who sticks his or her nose in where it doesn't belong? Are we ready to see her insult the bad guy's dick size or sexual performance just because? Could she curse like a sailor with the proper situations, and would we be okay with it? I don't know. We get it in comics and books sometimes, but it's a whole different thing to see it lifesize on the screen in front of you. I think things have changed enough since the 80s that culture would pretty much embrace it, but it's hard to say. *shrug* I'd love to see someone try it, though.

Profile

eurydicebound: (Default)
eurydicebound

March 2013

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
1011121314 1516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios